Inward Contemplation

Dharma discussion on Saturday 9 July 2016 (1)

Looking inside

Thay taught the method of inward contemplation, which is the main form of sitting meditation practice in our tradition. There are 3 levels of inward contemplation. The first level is body contemplation: in-breath and out-breath; rising and falling of chest and abdomen during breathing. The second level is contemplation on our feelings: pleasant and unpleasant feelings that come and go during meditation. The third level is contemplation of emotions: anger, sadness, grief, joy, etc, that appear and disappear during meditation. This practice helps us to see impermanence and the conditioned. Such insight is essential towards attaining liberation.

Namo Shakyamunaye Buddhaya

One thought on “Inward Contemplation

  1. Pingback: In Quietude | Upeksa Meditation Village (Thien Tu Hy Xa)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s